## III.—PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATION IN CANADA. 1.—Dominion Parliament.

The Dominion Parliament is composed of the King, represented by the Governor-General, the Senate and the House of Commons. The Governor-General is appointed by the King in Council. Members of the Senate are appointed for life by the Governor-General in Council and members of the House of Commons are elected by the people. As a result of the working out of the democratic principle, the part played by the King's representative and the Upper Chamber of Parliament in the country's legislation has been, in Canada as in the Mother Country, a steadily decreasing one, the chief responsibilities involved in legislation being assumed by the House of Commons.

## 1.--The Governor-General of Canada.

The Governor-General is appointed by the King as his representative in Canada, usually for a term of five years, with a salary fixed at £10,000 sterling per annum and forming a charge against the consolidated revenue of the country. The Governor-General is bound by the terms of his commission and can only exercise such authority as is expressly entrusted to him. He acts under the advice of his Ministry, which is responsible to Parliament, and, as the acting head of the executive, summons, prorogues and dissolves Parliament and assents to or reserves bills. In the discharge of these and other executive duties, he acts entirely by and with the advice of his Ministry (the Governor-General in Council). In matters of Imperial interest affecting Canada he consults with his ministers and submits their views to the British Government. The royal prerogative of mercy in capital cases, formerly exercised on the Governor-General's own judgment and responsibility, is now exercised pursuant to the advice of the Ministry.

A list of the Governors-General from the time of Confederation, with the dates of their appointment and assumption of office, is given in Table 1.

Names.	Date of Appointment.	Date of Assumption of Office.
Viscount Monck, G.C.M.G. Lord Lisgar, G.C.M.G. The Earl of Dufferin, K.P., K.C.B., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lorne, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Marquis of Lansdowne, G.C.M.G. Lord Stanley of Preston, G.C.B. The Earl of Aberdeen, K.T., G.C.M.G. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. The Earl of Minto, G.C.M.G. Field-Marshal H.R.H. the Duke of Connaught, K.G. The Duke of Devonshire, K.G., G.C.M.G., G.C.V.O. General the Lord Byng of Vimy, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., M.V.O	Dec. 29, 1868 May 22, 1872 Oct. 5, 1878 Aug. 18, 1883 May 1, 1888 May 22, 1893 July 30, 1898 Sept. 26, 1904 Mar. 21, 1911 Aug. 19, 1916	July 1, 1867 Feb. 2, 1869 June 25, 1872 Nov. 25, 1878 Oct. 23, 1883 June 11, 1888 Sept. 18, 1893 Nov. 12, 1898 Dec. 10, 1904 Oct. 13, 1911 Nov. 11, 1916 Aug. 11, 1921

## 1.—Governors-General of Canada, 1867-1925.

## 2.—The Ministry.

A system of government based upon the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate), responsible to Parliament, holds office while it enjoys the confidence of the people's representatives, is found in Canada. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons, and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet